BHGS Challenge

Posted: April 8, 2014 in Uncategorized

Last weekend saw Epic join another of the big three events run by the BHGS, The Challenge.

This was a two day event run at the Wheatley campus of Oxford Brookes University. The venue was pretty good, though an extra inch or so between rows would have been ideal, and the air con keeping one spot cool and not circulating air was odd. On site Starbucks (other coffee brands are available) kept the caffeine levels high, which was nice 🙂

The tournament itself was a two day, five game, three thousand point affair, with ten players signed up.

I did think about taking marines, then remembered I suck playing them. Briefly considered black legion, but as that meant painting a few predators I went with the lazy option and took nids 🙂

My list can be seen here. Two dominatrix at three thousand points may seem excessive, but I like how they play, and you can be semi aggressive with one and still retain you supreme commander re-roll.

Games One – Marcus H – Codex Marines.

If Marcus hadn’t had bad luck, he’d have had no luck at all! Some of the worst dice I’ve seen rolled at a tournament, and I’ve seen some pretty horrid ones from my side of the table! Marcus hadn’t played nids before, and did seem to react in the classic way and end up cornered by the nids. Then the combined lack of hits when attacking, and saves when defending saw his force whittled away and the nids secured a 4-0 win in three turns.

Game Two – Kevin B – Codex Marines.

Nose bleed time as I’m on table one, facing more marines. Sadly I can’t remember too many details of this one other than it was a total blood bath. By the end both sides had very little left on the table but I managed to squeak a 2-1 win. It’s amazing just how hard it can be to kill marine scouts!

Game Three – Dave T – Codex Marines.

So game three saw me play the final available marine army! My nids were 90% cerametal by now but my opponent refused to allow me a 6+ armour save for the guants… meanie 🙂

This game was pretty cagey, though the Dice of Dave came out early and his attack bike formation made more saves than I like to see. I played a pretty cagey game trying to kill thunderhawks once they landed but didn’t manage it. Neither side could find a way to win the game in four turns so it ended in a draw. Draws for nids normally see them on the losing side of the points divide and this was no exception.

So at the end of day one I sat in joint second, on equal points with Dave T… odd feeling for me I can tell you!

Game Four – Mark P – AMTL.

Mark’s AMTL list was one I actually thought the nids stood a reasonable chance against, with only 4 titans and two of them warhounds. I played it super safe with my BTS dominatrix hiding on my blitz for the game, but I felt ok about it as that denied Mark two objectives without over committing himself. The game saw one of the most ineffective assaults I’ve seen. 8 robots charged into some ruins to engage 6 genestealers in a FF. Four tripped up and wrecked themselves on the way in, they failed to kill a single stealer, lost the combat by 3 and the lone surviving robot trashed itself as it retreated from the combat! Go Steealers! (Gene, not Pittsburgh). I’d pushed up to hard turn one in truth and just didn’t have enough swarms left to break the titans, let alone kill one so the game ended in another draw.

Game Five – Richard L – Death krops of krieg.

Before the event there were two list I really didn’t think I matched up well too, this one and Tim H’s. The Krieg list matches mine for speed with the advantage of 4+ RA bullet catching transports. I made big errors in turn two when I won the initiative and assaulted a gorgon formation with a lone harridan, which went really badly wrong, though on reflection it was always going to. I had meant to hammer one of the light formations but got swept up in what seemed a good idea at the time! That said Richard made more saves than average on his gorgons, and in may ways I was lucky to escape with only a 2-0 loss in turn 3.

When all the games were done I’d managed to slip into my more normal position of mid table obscurity and finished fifth out of ten. The dual dominatrix is ok, but at this point level it does leave you equal on activations with other armies, and that isn’t the ideal situation for the nids as you lose formations pretty rapidly. With the introduction of AMTL I think two trygon formations may have been a better investment to give the list some “teleporting” deep threat, and I may have to get the paint out before Britcon.

Richard took the win, with Dave T second and Tim H third. Full results here, and the few pictures I took can be viewed here.

Five great games over the weekend, and it was good to see Sam and Marcus back at an Epic event again. Next up for me is either Leicester or Roll Call, but Roll Call looking more likely, either way I won’t take nids in an attempt to force me to paint some other epic stuff for once!

Thanks to Tim and the BHGS for allowing Epic into their event, we certainly hope to be back next year.

Leave a Reply

