Britcon – The washup.

Posted: August 28, 2014 in Britcon

Well Britcon has been and gone for another year and it still remains the event I looked forward to the most each year.

I enjoy the on campus nature of Britcon, though in truth I think I’ll not book into the same student digs next year. The chance of getting a room that overlooks that pub just isn’t that tempting. Hopefully the slightly cheaper hall will be available or I may splash out and stay at the nearby ibis!! But as that was the only really negative thing I can say about the event then it was a good one.

I like the six games, the fact we get to play at four thousand points, and even the marathon nature of game four starting at 17:30 and finishing at 20:00! It really does feel like struggle when deploying but flies by as the game develops. I know some periods now allow either the Friday or Saturday evening game to be dropped but I hope the Epic community continue to embrace the six game format.

On that subject it was a little disappointing to only get eight players entered this year. I know the headline costs look bad, with a ticket running at £50 with no food and accommodation on top. But for what you get and what the organisers have to shell out I still maintain it’s good value. You even get a £5 voucher back to spend with the traders on-site as long as you spend a £10 with one of them. With two traders having second hand Epic stock this year all the vouchers from the Epic players got spent, some of them on Friday before the stalls officially opened!

And this is something that does make Britcon a bit different. 170+ gamers all playing competition games, twelve (or more I didn’t count!) traders selling a wide variety of games and accessories and people dropping in to see the show. It’s great to see people say they thought epic was dead, and say they might get their models from the loft. Even it one of them does it’s another player back in the fold.

So all in all I had a thoroughly good time at Britcon. Tough games played by real Gents as ever. Thanks to Tim and Kevin for hosting us amongst the historical gamers once again and I definitely intend to be back for more in 2015.

Leave a Reply

