2016 – Back to the beginning?

Posted: January 3, 2016 in Uncategorized

Well the dust has settled on 2015, and 2016 stretches out before us all.

It’s at this point that I usually set out my goals for the year, splitting things into nice little ‘achievable’ chunks, which by the end of Jan I’m normally no where near achieving. So maybe it’s time to take a different approach?

@uberspoons over on twitter has set himself a challenge to #366minis366 days. This means over the year he aims to have painted one model for every day. A laudable goal, and one that as I gaze over my piles of projects one I find appealing… though not 366!

My enthusiasm for painting comes and goes, normally fuelled by the need to use painted models at an event, when I lack that motivation I rarely paint. So to that end I’m going to try and achieve 50% of @uberspoons, and aim for #183minis366days. Still a challenge as last year I painted maybe 30 models in the year.

Plenty of scope though,  I have hundreds of either bare metal or part painted minis on my shelves or in drawers, and plenty more in blisters too.

So three days in I’ve done zero… not an auspicious start maybe, but not matter. I am booked into a Guildball tournament on the 30th Jan, and will need 8 painted minis’ for that. I have built some more models, and I have plans for lists to take to Smogcon that will need painting before then.

So, back to the beginning? Just over a week ago a couple of random tweets galvanised me to try and get a D&D 5e game up and running. A few more tweets were exchanged, five players found and a game set in motion.

The game will be played using the Fantasy Grounds virtual tabletop, which I’ve owned for nearly five years but never really used in anger.

Four of the five characters have been created, and the first game arranged for Wednesday.

It’s been a long time since I was involved in role playing, but D&D was the game that started my journey into gaming, so back to the beginning, and hello to the new year.

Leave a Reply

