The way of the hoarder…

Posted: October 20, 2016 in Uncategorized

Many the time I’ve said to myself, self, it’s time to have a clear out.

So if I take a scan of the shelves next to my computer I see figures for :-

40K, Warmachine, Hordes, Force on Force/Ambush Alley, Saga, Necromunda,
28mm WWII, 15mm WWII, Epic A, Dystopian Wars, Inquisitor, Lord of the Rings,
Blood Bowl, Relic Knights, 10mm Ancients, 28mm Ancients, Guild Ball & Malifaux.

Some painted, more not! And that’s without opening the drawers… I think I might have to accept I have a problem!

Of the above list I’ve played six of the games listed this year, and some of those only once or twice. In fact the Rohan have seen more action as faux Normans in Saga since I purchased them.

Some of the models have seen play at varying stages of my magpie gaming life, though rarely have any been a staple that stay for any length of time. Surely I should be able to let them go without a second thought?

Don’t get me wrong, I have parted with various things over the years, I’ve even sold off painted Epic forces, dropped 6mm and 10mm WWII collections entirely. Yet more stuff creeps in to fill the void they leave.

Then there was Malifaux, I got frustrated with the game early into it’s 1.5 incarnation and sold out, models cards the lot. Then listening to certain podcasts lured me back, and I know have three masters when I only had one the first time round!

I guess I just assume that as soon as I sell on X, it will be the next thing I really want to play, and are they really doing any harm sitting up there gathering dust?

So sell or box and hide away? It’s a question that really has no answer, but it’s a fun way to procrastinate away time I could have used to paint!

 

 

Leave a Reply

