And so it begins… again!

Posted: July 4, 2017 in Uncategorized

I never mean’t to play 40K.

Scoff all you want, but the day I parted company with £10 sterling, and left Games Workshop’s Nottingham store I had zero interest in pitting the contents of my RTB01 box against other peoples minis. I just wanted to paint them.

Yes, seriously. I bought my first box of 40K minis as I thought they would be fun to have.

Oh I was fully invested in the 40K universe, it was just that I was a player of its sister game, Epic. Yes, sister game. Back then Epic had about the same shelf space as 40K did. So that fateful day I’d already browsed the Epic offerings, decided I had everything I needed right now, and so my gaze turned to the 40K shelf. Why not have few bigger models of my favorite sons of Baal?

I didn’t even buy Rouge Trader that day. The fall down that slippery slope happened later, though looking back it was always going to happen.

Over four incarnations of 40K that one box grew into a reasonable sized Blood Angels army, a brief flirtation with Genestealer cult, a start of a Tyranid army and a Catachan army that was a reasonable size too.

I played quite a lot of 40K from Rouge Trader through fourth edition. I did play one or two games of fifth, but by then the game wasn’t what I wanted, and GW wasn’t the game company I wanted to purchase from. So figures sat in cases and drawers, looked at now and then, but not put on the table.

Over the years I’ve let bits and pieces go, most of the ‘stealers have gone, so have the Catachans. I moved on most of the metal bits for Tyranids last year, but I never intended to let my Blood Angels go. They may be small by modern standards, and more orange, but they are my first army. Those you don’t let go. I really didn’t expect to put them on the table again though.

And along came 8th edition 40K.

Credit to GW, they are a leopard that has changed it’s spots to steal a metaphor.

So I find myself swept along on the hype train, and I’m not regretting it at all.

I’ve played on small game, and it was fun. Power and a simple scenario, simple game with hidden depth, but it was cinematic. My opponent and I laughed, rolled dice, made dakka noises. And the best bit, hardly any rule lookups or puzzled moments. The game flowed.

So far I’ve been strong, only picked up the rules and Indexes for Marines and Nids, but that won’t last. When the new split boxes go on pre-order I will launch myself into the Primaris era, and complete the circle.

See, a few years back I painted a new marine army for Epic, an Ultramarine successor chapter of my own making.

So… maybe it will be cool to just paint some bigger models for that chapter?

I mean, how bad can that end up?

Comments
  1. docbungle says:

    The fall it has happened again 😉

Leave a Reply

